DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Sword of Caine: A V5 Guide to the Sabbat
by Seitu P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2021 11:45:54

Belated update: This product has been updated since I wrote this review and my criticisms/gripes about Discipline and Paths of Enlightenment mechanics have by and large been addressed at this point.

I'm actually more split on my impression of this book's quality that the relatively high 4/5 I gave it may suggest.

I like the updated history of the Sabbat that the book provides and the alternate take on the sect's changes/growth up to and around the time of the events of V5. Working the Sikorsky/Galbraith affair into the sect's most recent turning point was a nice touch, and the look at the sect in the fray of the Gehenaa as well as how it can feed back into activities outside that arena is rich with possibilities.

In regards to some of the mechanics that are introduced, I'm less impressed. The return to clan-specific disciplines for the Tzimisce and the Saalubri Antitribu seems notably misplaced in the current edition, especially given the use of an Attribute + Skill framework for power dice pools that is absent from every other discipline in the game (it's obviously not a hard fix, if one considers it a problem, but it does make me wonder how much thought went into them to begin with). The Sabbat predator types in the book come off as low-effort paint jobs for existing predator types from core, with the exception of Sorority Sister, which I find to be different enough in its approach to hunting from the Scene Queen, despite their similarities, to bring something a bit distinct to the table.

Most egregious in my opinion are the gaps and ambiguities in the Path of Enlightenment system that the book offers. The preceding section on Sabbat in V5 regarding tenets obviously seeks to address the matter of stains in Sabbat Chronicles and when/if they should come into play, though its statements about automatic stains is curiously focused on murder and torture, which may or may not actually be stains depending on chronicle tenets; as far as actual automatic stains go, the list largely consists of using blood bonds, embracing mortals, varying degrees of harm to Touchstones, stain accrual that's baked into the use of Oblivion in general and the use of specific discipline powers. The general advice to use such stains 'sparingly' technically applies to these default stain triggers, though given the focus on things that aren't actually automatic stains it isn't clear to me that they're what the author had in mind. Even then, however, the book offers no real insight as to which of these sorts of automatic stains or more or less appropriate for Sabbat chronicles, and even accounting for possible outliers that aren't included in the list I provided above, it wouldn't have taken more than a paragraph or two to adequately address this for the majority of cases that turn up in the V5 books thus far. The matter of automatic Humanity loss from diablerie isn't addressed at all, though I think fair reading of the rules presented is that Sabbat who have yet to transition to a Path of Enlightenment remain subject to it while those who are on Paths do not (though it may conflict with the Ethics of their Paths and thereby still merit stains depending on the circumstances). Insofar as automatic stains do apply, the rules for Ethics associated with Paths as replacements for Convictions ironically render them worse at protecting against such stains than Convictions from Humanity since in contrast to the lost Convictions, the Ethics only reduce the total number of stain incurred by one at the end of a session rather than mitigating stains per action. This leads to the almost comical scenario where in order to maintain one's Path rating, the character must succeed on a Remorse roll to feel bad about taking actions that may well be explicitly endorsed, or even celebrated, by the Path they have committed themselves to. Moreover, it's not even clear how many of the Ethics apply to individual characters, which is important not only for their role in stain mitigation, such as it is, but also as a source for stains when characters act against the values that they espouse (and on that note, it isn't really clear what "violation of ethic conviction" is supposed mean on the Violation/Stains table given that the Ethics replace Convictions to begin with). We know that at least one of the Ethics will apply to characters, since that's covered under conversion, but beyond that it isn't clear when or how characters choose additional Path Ethics and it isn't even stated that characters starting on Paths, and thus having Path ratings of 6 from the get-go) choose more Path Ethics than those who are freshly converted.

Hell, as far as conversion goes, it doesn't even provide any information on how a character would go about increasing their Path rating at all; possibilities such as basing the experience cost on the costs for increasing Humanity in core (though that'd obviously be problematic with default experience reward suggestions unless the goal is to spend most of the Chronicle as a near-wight or likely Wassail well before it ends), using the rules for Projects, or simply roleplaying Path advancement come to mind, but even that sort of preliminary spitballing/handwaving demonstrates more thought on this subject than anything that actually made it into the book. I consider this a serious shortcoming given how important the Paths are to the identity of the sect, especially considering how much the author seems to think the book is worth.

To wrap this all up, as far as narrative and thematic elements of the book are concerned, I'd rate the book as a 4 or a 5 out of 5. Mechanics-wise, it slips up enough that I'd rate as a 3 out of 5 (if looking at the rules for Paths alone I'd bring it down to a 2 out of 5). Given that this review is for other people, I settled for an overall score of 4 with the expectation that others may not share my issues with the mechanics, or at least not be as disappointed with them as I am.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sword of Caine: A V5 Guide to the Sabbat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Solid feedback and opinions. You've definitely given a well-spoken critique that I will certainly take to heart when going through for an update. I sincerely appreciate the candid view and will try to use it to make the product better in future updates. Thank you very much for your thoughts!
The Hermetic Hipsters Guide to the Nine Mystic Traditions
by Yui F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2021 07:23:08

as a contributor to this project, i was very happy with how it eventually turned out. the writing is consistently high quality, and the original art provided is excellent. a great resource for mage fans who want some contemporary odds and ends to add to their games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hermetic Hipsters Guide to the Nine Mystic Traditions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Things Go Southy: One Page Chronicle Jumpstart
by Andrew D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2021 23:48:30

I just finished running this for a V5 group in preparation to run it at PAX Unplugged this coming weekend. This is a terrific starter module to kick off a campaign. It could easily be transferred to any city, but where it really shines is in the variety of experience it offers for the game in a short and inexpensive package. You'll have chances to taste stealth, social combat/ negotiation, Kindred rivalry, urban conflict and grit, and a healthy dose of supernatural adversity in a story you can run in a few hours. I highly recommend this for anyone looking for a fun campaign starter or one shot, but you could also slip this into the middle of an existing campaign as a quest line and it would work really well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Things Go Southy: One Page Chronicle  Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Sources of Magick
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2021 06:34:21

I didn't think I needed a book on nodes and wellsprings before. Clearly I was wrong. This is an excellent in depth look at the implications and variations of these small hearts of creation, and how to impliment them into your games. It also collects rotes from previously published works along with new creations.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sources of Magick
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Dark New England Regional Sourcebook
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2021 05:29:09

An excellent and in depth region book with a wide range of characters that is worth the price of entry alone. This book has shed the 1st edition cringe which White Wolf worked hard to excise from their later edition products and taken a very respecful look at New England, complete with consideration for the First Nations who came before and the ramifications of vampirism predating colonists. Please, give it a read!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark New England Regional Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Paradigm Explored: Wyrd and Weft
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2021 05:25:13

This book is an effective class in how to create a characte in detail, along with what they might actually try to do in the world. Additionally, if you need an effective NPC, you've got one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paradigm Explored: Wyrd and Weft
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Enlightened Grimoire
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2021 05:22:38

Excellent collection of rotes. It's thorough and concise, making it easy to see how expectations have evolved within the system as well as simply providing inspiration for your characters and NPCs to shine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enlightened Grimoire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2021 05:20:41

This was an excellent look at how to combine plot decisiongs, world building, and their larger scale impacts on the behavior of a setting. A couple small choices can have large scale impacts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

First Team Dossier: Blackglass, Null & Associates
by Luke S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2021 12:53:11

Every single member of the team is horrific, and very dangerous. These are great!

It has always bugged me that all the Pentex stuff wasn't really fleshed out, just that they were 'the bad guys'. This book puts them firmly in the "things that will terrify a whole Garou pack" territory, and I love it.

it's also worth picking up 'The Star-Spangled All-American Nuclear Family', the first book in this series, for some more terrifyingly creepy bad guys for your game. Each has enoigh backstory to be able to roleplay them convincingly, and enough 'crunch' in the rules to be truly worrying for any pack that isnt 100% committed and prepared to face them.

More great stuff from Clinton Boomer!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
First Team Dossier: Blackglass, Null & Associates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

WoD Character creator
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2021 14:33:47

What an amazing program! I love everything about it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WoD Character creator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Werewolf: The Apocalypse (Revised Edition)
by James P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2021 15:00:28

The signs are upon us The Earth Burns The waters bleed The humans unleash hunger And disease and bloodshed The breed poison and hatred The world dies

Only we can see the final signs The eye of the Wyrm has opened The nation has splintered The end times are here

There is nothing left but war And none left to fight but us

The back of the rulebook sets the story for Werewolf: The Apocalypse perfectly!

I love how, although you are a raging beast of death you are against seemingly unsurmountable odds to save the world! There is so much roleplaying potential in this game. From Roleplaying the politics game at the Sept, whether you're at your home sept, or visting another's. Maybe you're trying to talk the authorites into stepping in to deal with the illegal dumping of pollution. Maybe you decide, "screw this" and kill all the minions of they Wyrn instead.

While the Vampires and Mages worry about their own problems.. "Oh, Woah is me... I'm dead" and "I gotta be careful or I'll kill myself", The Werewolves are the only ones who are actively fighting to save all of us!

I also saw previous reviews saying the scan is bad, but they must've updated since then, becasue mine is great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse (Revised Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Signatures: Characters updated to V5
by Tobias B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2021 08:51:22

In my opinion, the art fits the characters like a glove and invokes the right impression of what those signature characters embody. This package is well worth the money when one is planning to include these characters in a story since none of them will leave the imagined stage without changing the course of the aforementioned story dramatically. I for my part purchased it for the inclusion of Lucita which got the expected "Oh-Shit" reaction of my players at the table. Only my printer is crying a couple of small inky tears while nibbling at all the dark / fully colored parts of the character sheet, just so he can comply with my demands. To be honest, it is not worth taking away any number of points for it and maybe it is just my love for the oldschool way of having a physical ST binder, but I would have loved a version of the character sheets without the background being fully colored.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Signatures: Characters updated to V5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Risen
by Andrew D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2021 14:59:47

Just so much fun. Wraith with risen characters seems like such an obvious step. Especially NPC risen.

The only element I would of liked some more connection to the Kuei-jin.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Risen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

V5: Bloodlines Unbound Volume 1
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2021 08:29:56

This book gives us the basics (loresheets , discipline powers and banes) for creating characters (PCs and NPCs alike) of ten bloodlines. The loresheets are well written and seem balanced enough. The discipline powers are reworks of several powers from the exclusive discipline of the bloodlines in previous editions. The weakest part in our opinion is that some of the bloodlines just get the same bane as their parent clan instead, but even that is just a minor nitpick.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
V5: Bloodlines Unbound Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Nahema: A Malkavian Bloodline
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2021 08:28:21

This bloodline appeared in Clanbook Nahema and this supplement presents the bloodline for play using the V5 ruleset.

The book opens with a disclaimer about the seriousness of mental health and a link to a help website that is greatly appreciated.

Presentation: The book is very well written, the layout follows the V5 format and the use of images adds to the themes explored by the bloodline.

Lore:The history section of the supplement gives us the origins of the bloodline and their need to mingle with “normal” Malkavians and ties the bloodline to the mistery of Malakai and her relationship with Malkav as presented in previous editions of the game.

Rules: The character archetypes presented are interesting as examples of typical embraces for this bloodline. The discipline power and amalgam presented look balanced and work well adapting the exclusive discipline of the bloodline to V5 discipline design. The loresheet for the bloodline is interesting, we particularly like how it gives the option to substitute Auspex as prerequisite for several amalgams giving a Nahema PC/NPC access to powers that make sense to their ancestry at the cost of their mental fortitude.

For V5 players wanting to expand their opinions we recommned this product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Nahema: A Malkavian Bloodline
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3193 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates