DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Shadowrun: On the Rocks
by Allegra V. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2022 00:25:25

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

I liked this a lot. Perfect end to the trilogy. I love the way chapters are structured in this, too, I got some arsene lupin vibes out of it. The bookend scenes were great, and I absolutely adored the character development of a particular character during that big climax scene (Not mentioned due to spoilers).

Excited to see what you do next!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: On the Rocks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun: The Kechibi Code (Plot Sourcebook)
by Jesse L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2022 13:51:30

Okay, so this is more in line of what I was expecting from metaplot/plot/campaign books than what Cutting Black was. It seems to be completely disconnected to the 6th edition metaplot and I'm not particularly well versed with Shadowrun MO to know if this is because its essentially standalone book or if stuff in it will be important or come back later. Anyhoo so this is about mysterious piece of code named after a japanese youkai which when activated manipulates markets in semi legal fashion to produce lot of money. There is bit long in universe article about market manipulation and coding which isn't really super interesting to me since not that interested in stocks and economy, but I like how adventure/investigations presented in book demonstrate different way codes can be used and different stories you can tell with it. I didn't read everything in detail because I never read sixth core rules in first place so I have no idea how it works rules wise in practice, but the investigations seemed solid and varied. They seemed like they would be easy to use as is and work as inspirations to build more adventures to do with subject matter. I do think the in universe conspiracy theories about trying to figure the origin and purpose of the code went perhaps bit too long since it started to feel as frustrating as reading real conspiracy theories :D



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: The Kechibi Code (Plot Sourcebook)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun: Aztlan
by Lucas A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2022 22:25:39

Printed book: 2 stars

Content: 5 stars

The printed copy is rife with inconsistent print quality, unfortunately almost all the SR 1e book reprints from DTRPG have this problem. This is the only way you're probably going to get a hard copy of Aztlan without paying a premium. I'm not sure if the issue is a low quality scan, printing issue, combo or something else but it is difficult on the eyes how text runs from light to overly dark/bold.

The writing here is top notch, Nigel Findley was one of the best RPG writers of his day and deserves mention in the G-O-A-T list. There's not much in the way of game mechanisms in the book. The focus is on setting information and plot hooks. Like almost all Shadowrun books of this type there are old BBS style postings on what people think of a given topic covered often suggesting to the gamemaster how they may spin or work a story/topic.

Excellent material -I'm just disappointed the physical copy was poorly printed/scanned.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Aztlan
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Cosmic Patrol: Core Rulebook
by Kevin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2022 00:48:02

Fast paced, action filled, and lots of fun. this game is heavy on improv and making it up. plots points make this easy and fun. the weapon system is under powered by a lot. it takes tons of slow rolling to kill anything. i suggest doubling the damage.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cosmic Patrol: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun: Cutting Black (Plot Sourcebook)
by Jesse L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2021 03:44:51

I've always had distaste for systems with heavy focus on advancing metaplot that outdates the older setting books and is easy to loose track of. I don't mind systems with heavy focus on campaigns with possible world changing events(such as how Pathfinder handles it), but I've preferred the setting books to not get outdated in span of same edition. But since I've only gotten chance of playing Shadowrun(5e) only once in five years and I figured out even if I get chance to play my GMs likely wouldn't follow the metaplot... Well, why not just buy the books for fiction value? I always liked reading jackpoint conversations and setting materials in player rule books, setting flavor is really best part of Shadowrun after all.

But yeah umm.... Even with that this book isn't what I expected. This was first Shadowrun plot sourcebook I had read, so I needed to check out other metaplot books to see if they are all like this or if this one was exception. More on that later. What I was expecting was something like this: Since I knew this wasn't an adventure module, I expected lot of in universe reports on the on going events, out of character text on how gm can handle the events, stats for important npcs and such, and lot of plot hooks.

Book is instead about just the on going live reporting on several seemingly disconnected events, with greater ramifications on UCAS. Basically vast majority of book is in character fiction and stats only being for token two insect spirits and the new alpha merge one. There is also that book goes through several events could have been their own adventures or even campaigns, Chigago bug war redux in Detroit, UCAS army unit disappearing, the Blackout itself, UCrash that results from all of that happening and for some reason British's person's perspective on all of these events from outside point of view to get the "how did world globally" react to it info.(note: something about that part feels off to me, like American trying to write someone who is British, but not really nailing it right)

So umm... I did get what I wanted ironically since I was going to read book just for fiction and its 99.99% fiction material with 0.01 rule stuff. But even from that perspective, it feels unsatisfying. My guess is that intended use of book is to work as inspiration for GM's own campaign that goes through same events, (but again, even in that case this is basically several different campaigns rushed through in one book) hence why it has detais like "Damien Knight is probably dead but no clue if he did heroic sacrifice, died as villain, turned out to be super bug spirit or what", its indended for GM to create their own take on matter with same end result as in the book, but they can fill in details themselves. But from my view it feels like the person causing the initial shenanigans just got bridge dropped on them out of nowhere without satisfying conclusion.

I'm not going to compare book to multiple other Shadowrun plot books I read afterwards , that would take too long, so I'm only goign to bring up Dark Terrors: That one had much better balance of in character commentary, mechanics and usable plot hooks that this one did. Unless something changed between 5e and 6e, I'm going to assume this book is more extreme case rather than the norm. Though maybe Lockdown would have been better book to buy and compare as Lockdown and this are both introductions to the new metaplot rather than deeper exploration of already known concepts(Dark Terrors is great btw).

But yeah so in conclusion: As fiction book, I did enjoy the jackpoint commentary and new twists and turns in the book, but book felt unfocused and felt like it threw lot of ideas that are going to get deeper exploration in later books. That and there were lot of unsatisfying elements in the focus: Like the book first feels like its going to be about the Detroit bug war and Ares shenanigans, but then its like "aaand it ended in victoy and Damien Knight died somehow"(though it does later get back to topic close to the end when discussing Motor City and later again when Betas come up). Basically, it feels like some plot threads got picked up and dropped anti climactically without reader really getting catharsis.

From GM source book point of view, the book doesn't really give any guidance or mechanics for GM to use to run this as campaign. Book just tells events and ending point of them and expects gm to get inspired and want to run them themselves and fill in their own detail(like how did climactic end with Damien Knight go and etc), which kinda feels like even worse take on metaplot railroad than I had thought. Like I had assumed most of metaplot shadowrun railroad is sort of "Okay here is adventure that says characters have to do x or Harlequin kills them" dealio, this is more of "Well this is status of plot after multiple months worth of events which each could be their own campaign. So either run multiple campaigns for years until this book also gets oudated, or make campaign that rushes through each disconnected plot point fast". Either way, if you as GM follow it's intended use, you won't know if your home campaign version of events will get invadilated because, for example, later book might explain what actually happened to Damien Knight. Its basically like railroad where you have beginning and end, but lack middle of it and compelling reason to want to buy ticket to train in first place. Like I've seen similar "you know how story starts and ends, but its up to gm how to make up the middle" books which did it much better guidance and inspiration wise and I've also seen many "here are multiple different possible options for what actually happened and how to run them" as well. This book's problems on gm side really come down to lack of guidance.

Dunno if this makes much sense since I'm writing this in morning and this is like first user review I've done in this site(at least for years) but uh yeah. There is lot I like in this book, but objectively I think it would be weird for me to give it higher rating when there is so many things I consider to be faux pas in rpg books.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Cutting Black (Plot Sourcebook)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun Legends: Clockwork Asylum (The Dragon Heart Saga, Book 2)
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2021 23:45:47

Ooof. I really wanted to like this. The general plot is solid and interesting. If I was playing through it as an adventure module, I'd probably enjoy it.

However ... it's obvious that no one at the publisher actually read it before pushing it out the door. There are typos, misspellings, and author's notes about sourcebooks left in. Instead of recapping or recontextualizing events from the prior novel, the author was allowed to copy/paste whole sections into this one. The writing is generally "meh", with a few attempts to use a thesaurus that just go awkwardly wrong (should have used a dictionary, too). Characters' personalities aren't consistent from the previous book (or even scene to scene).

Finally, it's just too long. I didn't need to read about the Gary Stu protagonist having sex with the hot elf more than once. There are a number of scenes and subplots that seem to have been added to patch over plot holes. A real editor would have REMOVED the plot holes and pushed the pace of the novel fast enough to not notice the remaining problems.

I'll be charitable and assume the people at FASA gave the author a checklist of people, places, powers, gear, and worldbuilding history to refer to. I give it a second star because it does at least serve as an excellent introduction to the world of Shadowrun.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun Legends: Clockwork Asylum (The Dragon Heart Saga, Book 2)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun: Anarchy
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2021 04:51:54

As a group we had been playing under the 6E rules (dont even try it). 6E is bad for so many reasons, but mostly because of the bad editing and the assumption you have already played 5e or prior.

Anarchy is similar in the fact it is so light on content it assumes you have other books to build the world out further. Since i had all 5E and 6E books for me and our group this became a simply conversion across.

whilst i think i converted the group badly the impact was instant. we were able to immediatley jump into the game, combat became smooth and non crunchy and the whole process became very cinematic.

there were some chats in regards to the rules in order to get going and you will need agreement in some instances how to tackle certain scenarios, but if you want to remove the crunch from the game and concentrate on having fun and building a great narrative...this is your game. so much so, we are using the Anarchy rules for other games now too (shadow amps are easy to convert)

So in summary - recommended if you have already settled nicely into the SR world and want to now move away from the drag of the rules and build a deeper/smoother narrative. be prepared for some initial discussions, but once you get past that...you will be running super fast.

Also i agree there is no need to follow the concept of round robin roleplaying...play as you would normally and you will be fine. I just wish there were more books supporting the Anarchy set up.

FYI: currently running with the "Toxic Alleys" adventure, and despite the adventure not being the greatest the Anarchy rules are easy to use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Anarchy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun: Anarchy 2050
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2021 03:00:05

Our RPG group is a huge fan of narrative over rules and the Anarchy system suits that superbly. There was the initial shock to the system of trying to convert hundreds of pages worth of previous material into Shadow amps, but once we got into the game, it became about the characters and not about spending 40 minutes trying to work out a convoluted rule (6th edition...your editing sucks!). So to see another Anarchy book now available, i jumped at the chance. Great to see some of the old fave characters back in the book and it can then enable you to bring back some of those old source books too. Always love to see more shadow amps (Anarchy Chicago rocks too by the way) and i am surprised that there have not been more Anarchy books added to the mix. Really good to see old artwork back in the book as well, providing that retro feel (not sure if 2050 can be considered "retro" but hopefully you get what i mean)...trip down memory lane! I agree would be nice to get this in hardback too (not just PDF). Would love to hear more shout outs for Anarchy and see there is a following behind it, since moving into Anarchy our combat has been cinematic and smooth, our characters have been able to expand into emotional backgrounds - all possible with the older systems, but now...much much easier.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Anarchy 2050
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun: Anarchy 2050
by Allegra V. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2021 20:37:45

Hm, kinda wish I could give a 4.5? The writing's all good, I'm just not a big fan of the contract briefs being synopsis of old runs. That's kinda my bad, I saw the book title and the book authors and hit "add to cart" and read the whole thing before reading the book description 0.0



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: First Edition
by Lucas A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2021 19:16:32

TLDR: Printed books is ok, could have been better. Content is excellent.

Physical book is 3 stars

The book itself is 5 stars

The printed copy is (sadly) one of the better Shadowrun reprints you can get from DTRPG. It's ok - it does have some inconsistent print quality but is better than other original Shadowrun reprints I've seen. As far as the book content - well, it's classic Shadowrun. I'm not a fan of the game mechanisms but the setting and fiction are excellent.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: First Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun: Anarchy
by H. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2021 01:42:18

I read and played Anarchy years ago and was just reminded it existed, so: Shadowrun Anarchy is a good idea (a lightweight option for playing Shadowrun) but the execution here is very poor. It might be usable for seasoned Shadowrun players looking for guidance on how to pare the game down to something less crunchy, but it is absolutely not a stand-alone product and would not be very helpful to anyone new to Shadowrun. Rules (which are nothing to write home about) are poorly and incompletely explained, and the book casually assumes you have a copy of SR5 you can reference and convert things from by yourself. I would've rated this slightly better (though still not well) if it presented itself as an alternate rule system to use alongside SR5, but Anarchy seems to be presented on its own as a complete core and an easier entry point for new players. It is neither of those things.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Anarchy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

BattleTech: Experimental Technical Readout: 1945
by [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2021 09:27:53

Why yes i would like to stomp this t34-85 with my centurion



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Experimental Technical Readout: 1945
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

BattleTech Primer
by Jeremy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2021 10:43:40

A great resource on the different houses in Battletech.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech Primer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

BattleTech: HexPacks: HexPack Promotion #1
by Jeremy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2021 10:41:14

Because it is in b/w the hex art is difficult to read. There's not enough contrast. It would be better in color.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: HexPacks: HexPack Promotion #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

BattleTech: A Time of War GM Screen
by Jeremy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2021 10:39:14

This would have significantly more value if it was done in landscape instead of portrait.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: A Time of War GM Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1130 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates